Prominent public service leader Poirier joins TVO Board of Directors

TVO’s Chair of the Board of Directors, Peter O’Brian is pleased to announce that Jo-Anne Poirier has been appointed to the Board as a new member.

“Ms. Poirier brings a wealth of knowledge and experience,” said Peter O’Brian, Chair of the TVO Board of Directors. “With more than 30 years of experience in the private, public and not-for-profit sectors, Ms. Poirier’s expertise will be of great value to TVO, as we grow our role as the digital public space for Ontario-perspective in-depth current affairs and the province’s partner for digital learning.”

As the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Victorian Order of Nurses (VON), Jo-Anne Poirier runs Canada’s longest standing, national, not-for-profit, charitable home and community care organization. Prior to joining VON Ms. Poirier was the Chief Executive Officer of the Ottawa Community Housing Corporation.  Under her leadership, Ottawa Community Housing received several awards for excellence, including the 2011 award for Non-Profit Organization of the Year under the Business Achievement Awards of the Ottawa Chamber of Commerce.

Ms. Poirier is actively involved in the community and on several Boards of Directors, including the Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee of the Board of Directors of the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario and Vice-Chair of the City of Ottawa Board of Health. She has received several awards for her work, including the distinguished Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, and the 2012 Dirigeante de l’année, Secteur Communautaire (2012 CEO of the year – Non-Profit sector) Award from the Regroupement des gens d’affaires de la capitale nationale.

“I am thrilled that Ms. Poirier has chosen to bring her impressive track record of service to the community to TVO, as we build-out our digital learning resources and the digital public place serving the citizens of Ontario, “ said Lisa de Wilde, Chief Executive Officer of TVO.

Pursuant of the Ontario Educational Communications Authority Act, the Ontario Government appointed Jo-Anne Poirier for a 3-year term that runs from March 22, 2017 to March 21, 2020.