Dynamic educator Thando Hyman joins TVO Board of Directors

TVO’s newest Board member brings a history of excellence in Ontario education.

Thando Hyman is a highly qualified educator who has been passionately involved in the promotion of equity and access throughout her storied career. She credits her success in education to a focus on proven strategies that incorporate innovation, culturally relevant curriculum development, equity and diversity.

“I am very pleased that Thando is joining TVO’s Board,” said Peter O’Brian, Chair of TVO’s Board of Directors. “Thando’s leadership in education and forward-thinking approach will help TVO seize new opportunities to create meaningful impact for the people of Ontario.”

Thando has spent over 20 years in the Toronto District School Board (TDSB), where she has served in a number of roles, including as Lead Principal for 22 TDSB schools across southeast Toronto. In 2009, she was the founding Principal of Toronto’s Africentric Alternative School, the first in Canada, where she played a leading role in the development and implementation of successful education strategies for over three years.

She has served as Course Director and Adjunct Professor at York University’s Faculty of Education, and can be heard on her weekly radio program on the University of Toronto’s campus radio, CIUT 89.5 FM, where she discusses issues facing African women and families.

Thando is an active volunteer who believes in building success by empowering all stakeholders, through community partnerships and fostering collective leaderships. She has chaired the African Heritage Educators Network (AHEN), the Black Coalition for AIDS Prevention, served as equity consultant and instructor for the Black Cultural Heritage program, is a founding board member of the African Canadian Legal Aid Clinic.

Since 2006, she has been a member of TVO’s Regional Councillors Advisory Board.

In accordance with the Ontario Educational Communications Authority Act, the Ontario Government appointed Thando Hyman for a three-year term that runs to October 17, 2020.